The Gospel of Smoov

Free of obstructed views and fair-weathered opinions

Deja Vu All Over Again

You know, it’s amazing how one snap decision can both bring back a forgettable moment and make a boring game exciting at the same time.

Two years ago I dislocated my right index finger diving for a ground ball while taking batting practice after work. The injury was severe enough to have a tendon removed (the technical term is “reduction”) and knock me out for a few weeks. That included the first official game at the current Yankee Stadium. Yes, I still kick myself about that fact from time to time. Ever since then, I made a vow to myself that I would never dive on concrete for a baseball as long as I live.

Well, I made it two years and almost five months before breaking that vow.

During the second Oriole-Yankees game tonight, Andruw Jones hit a foul ball that made it to my section (120a/120b for those of you that don’t know). The ball ricocheted off the steps towards the big black curtain behind me. I didn’t want the ball to roll underneath, so I straight-up dove for it. Yep, you read that right: I DOVE FOR A FOUL  BALL AT WORK. As soon as I got up and made sure I was okay, about 20-25 people bum-rushed me in hopes of getting the ball. After a few moments, I gave the ball to the first kid from my section I saw. The whole scene was a little surreal, like I was a Yankee for a while. A lot of the fans congratulated me on making a great catch on that ball; some kidded around with me, others were wondering why I didn’t keep the ball. Either way, it was one helluva way to make a 17-3 blowout fun.

So … that’s how I spent my Saturday night. What did YOU do?

*****

If you’re trying to picture me going all-out for a ball, allow me to jog your memories with this 2009 gem from Joba Chamberlain.

You can stop laughing now.

Leave a Reply

