The Gospel of Smoov

Free of obstructed views and fair-weathered opinions

Hell Week

So … some week I’ve had, huh?

So much has gone on in the past week, I’m still trying to wrap my head around it all. Some of it is personal, some of it is sports-related. Everything has taken its toll on me, and I’ve gotten easily flustered lately. I’m not sure what it’s going to take, but I have to get back on track soon.

What’s gone on in the last week? Let’s review:

  • Work was very stressful. In between my supervisor needing some help behind home plate to take the pressure off of him, witnessing a losing homestand (more on this later) and the long hours, it was the first time in 3+ years at the Stadium that I would rather have been home for all the games. Those of you that know me know that never happens.
  • School is picking up fast. Because of my work schedule last week — and subsequently this coming week and a half — it is becoming increasingly difficult to keep up with schoolwork. I know it’s still my responsibility to get the work done (and I am, best believe) but it doesn’t help when MLB decides to front-load all the Yankees’ home games this early in the season.
  • The Yankees have been an absolute mess. Situational hitting has been atrocious and the pitching hasn’t been great either, causing the Yankees to lose five of six at home and six in a row overall following Monday’s loss to Tampa Bay. To make matters worse, Jorge Posada handled being dropped to 9th in the order horribly by suddenly pulling himself out of Saturday’s lineup. And Rafael Soriano, of all people, decided it was smart to throw the offense under the bus. Because, you know, he and his 5.40 ERA are in position to judge performance.
  • I now have a personal beef with Karl Rove. For those of you who don’t know, Rove and the rest of the GOP decided to make controversy out of the Obamas inviting rapper/actor Common to the White House for their Evening of Poetry event. Rove, in particular, called Common a “thug” in response to suggestive lines in his poem “A Letter to the Law”. I’m not that surprised at Rove calling a rapper a thug, being that that’s all people like him see in the rappers today. But what has me so heated is how wrong he is. Anyone who has extensively listened to Common over his music career knows that he is probably the furthest thing from “thug”. He is one of the few that provides a positive message in hip-hop, and for someone like Karl Rove to blatantly ignore all the good that Common stands for and focus on a few lines in a poem where he renounces violence at the end is flat-out ignorant.

*lets out a sigh of relief* That felt good to get off my chest. Hopefully this week will be more relaxing for me and bring better results. God knows I’ll need it.

Leave a Reply

