The Gospel of Smoov

Free of obstructed views and fair-weathered opinions

What Opening Day Means To Me

I hope you all are ready for a 4th season of Smoov Security at Yankee Stadium!

Happiest security officer in the building

As I prepare to work my third Opening Day out of four (I didn’t work ’09 because of the unfortunate surgery on my right index finger), I find tons of emotions and thoughts being evoked in my mind. Opening Day in MLB is always a special time, as it signifies new life coming into my sports fanhood. I can’t tell you how excited I am to welcome the 50,000+ fans into the Stadium on Thursday as our beloved Yankees push towards World Series #28.

So what else does Opening Day mean to me?

  • WARM WEATHER. Although recent weather trends say otherwise, Opening Day is the unofficial day of packing the winter gear away. Fur coats, long-johns and skully hats are replaced with t-shirts, sunglasses and fitted caps. Guys break out their six-packs and chiseled biceps, and the women show off their cleavages and firm thighs. The kids are out playing ball like their favorite athletes. And thousands of fans come out to the ballpark to enjoy the beautiful weather throughout the spring and summer. No better feeling, in my mind.
  • NEW BLOOD. Yes, we were all sad to see Andy Pettitte ride off into the sunset and subsequently weaken our pitching rotation. But with Rafael Soriano and Pedro Feliciano shoring up an already solid bullpen and Russell Martin taking over the full-time catching duties, there is still much to look forward to in 2011. Add in the potential emergence of prospects such as Jesus Montero, Dellin Betances and Manny Banuelos down the road, and you can’t help but be excited for the future.
  • LOVE OF THE GAME. I have grown to love the game of baseball over the years. Being a Yankees fan has helped me come to understand and appreciate the history of not only the franchise, but the game as a whole. Having grown up around basketball from birth, I never imagined that I would fall in love with baseball and have it become so instrumental in my life. But I’m glad that it has. I can’t wait to be in the Stadium on Thursday and to start playing baseball outside as the weather gets warmer.

However you guys and gals celebrate Opening Day, make sure you take a chance to reflect on how much March 31st will mean to you this year. You’ll be surprised to find all the emotions it evokes.

Oh, and one more thing …

LET’S GO YAN-KEES! *clap-clap clap-clap-clap*

*****

After weeks of going back and forth on it, I’ve decided that I will attempt to do one blog post for every Yankee game this season. I’m really looking forward to the challenge of 162 posts in approximately 180 days. Maybe it’ll bring in some much-needed blog traffic.

Let’s get it!

Leave a Reply

