The Gospel of Smoov

Free of obstructed views and fair-weathered opinions

A Simulation of Epic Proportions

Two generations of Yankee superstars (Bettmann/CORBIS)

Oh, this is gonna be fun.

With spring training in full swing and Opening Day fast approaching, I’m in the mood to do another classic simulated series. For those of you who are new to the blog, I have done simulated 7-game series (all Yankee-related, of course) pitting two top-notch historic teams against each other. For an example of what I’m talking about, you can look through my blog archives for my World Series simulation featuring last year’s Yankees against the defending World Series champion San Francisco Giants. But I’m gonna switch it up this time around. Instead of putting two championship-caliber teams up against one another, I’m gonna do a simulation featuring the Yankees teams from 1966 and 1990 starting on Monday.

You may be asking yourself what the significance is of these two teams. First of all, both teams finished last in their respective seasons — the last two Yankee teams to do so. The ’66 Yankees were two years removed from a World Series appearance now featuring aging superstars Mickey Mantle, Roger Maris and Whitey Ford. The ’90 Yankees represented the lowest point in the darkest era of Yankees baseball — from the beginning of Don Mattingly’s unfortunate decline to the late George Steinbrenner’s expulsion from Major League Baseball (eventually becoming a three-year suspension). Second, you rarely hear fans wonder about how bad teams would stack up … even from a comedic standpoint. It’s always “How would Ron Guidry pitch to Babe Ruth?” Well, here I will find the answer to “How would Andy Hawkins go about pitching to Horace Clarke?”

Am I bored? Probably. Have I lost my mind? Perhaps. But I guarantee that you will be at least mildly entertained by this simulation throughout the week.

Will Andy Hawkins have similar "success"? (www.shippinganywhere.net)

One response to “A Simulation of Epic Proportions

  1. donna p March 5, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    I always like these simulated games! Lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

