The Gospel of Smoov

Free of obstructed views and fair-weathered opinions

Being Thankful

It’s that time of year again — the time where we start reflecting on the year at hand. The time where we hang with our families more as the weather drops. And where we eat twice our weight in food that one Thursday in November while handling all the football we can handle.

Yup, I’m talking about Thanksgiving.

There’s much for me to be thankful for every day, and this year is no different. It may sound cheesy to most of you, but I feel truly blessed every waking moment. So without further ado, here’s everything I’m most thankful for:

  1. LIFE. We always hear people use the phrase “Life is what you make it.” And while there are certain aspects of my existence that I could do without, I try to take it all in stride and focus on what is good and positive in my life. It’s when the bad takes over that everything falls apart. So it is important to be strong-willed and soldier on to be truly happy and satisfied in life.
  2. FAMILY. My mother, sister and grandmother have played the most important role as my support system. I have developed the utmost respect for women from growing up around mostly women, and they have helped shape me into the person I am. While my father wasn’t an active part of my life, I find myself learning from him all the time. And when I start a family of my own, I hope to be twice the father that he was to me.
  3. FRIENDS. Over the last few years, I find myself being more outgoing and engaging with my friends every day after being sheltered for most of my life. It’s important for me to be outgoing since it specifically pertains to the career I want to pursue, and I’m glad that I have taken this giant step in my life (thanks in part to Twitter and Facebook).
  4. SPORTS. This is the biggest piece of my identity. In the artistry of life, it is my muse. The Yankees, Giants and Knicks all affect my mood in some way — whether I like it or not. I like that I can use sports as a starting point in developing lasting friendships, making conversation that much easier.
  5. EMPLOYMENT. While I sometimes wish I had a steadier paycheck coming in, working in Yankee Stadium is the next best thing to playing on the field. Between seeing the games live and interacting with the fans, it truly is a tremendous experience. I hope that anyone who gets a chance to be employed by the Stadium in some capacity will take in the sense of pride and history of the New York Yankees.

Long story short: I don’t see a reason to complain about the great things I have in my life. Even though everything is a grind and the going does get tough (another cliche … awesome), I feel good enough about myself to keep pushing and appreciate all the great things that I have in my life.

What are you most thankful for? Feel free to discuss in the comments section.

*****

Have a safe and Happy Thanksgiving everyone! And remember — eat twice your weight in food!

Leave a Reply

